top of page

Preston Andrew Spencer (Zeta Xi & Theta Nu) 1985-2020

Preston Andrew Spencer, 35, of Tyler, was born on July 20, 1985 to Tony and Vicki Spencer in Henderson, Texas. He attended Carlilse schools and graduated in 2003, ranked third in his class, and was voted as Mr. CHS and Prom King. He then attended Tyler Junior College in Tyler, Texas where he was a member of the Apache Band, Wind Ensemble, and Tuba/Euphonium Choir. He was instrumental in the recolonization of the Zeta Xi chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi at TJC. After completing his Associate of Music degree, he transferred to Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, Louisiana. He was a member of the Spirit of Northwestern (SON) band, Tuba/Euphonium studio, and the Theta Nu chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi. He received a Bachelor of Music and as a band director touched the lives of many.

He passed away on October 17, 2020 in Tyler and was preceded in death by his paternal grandparents, Clyde and Margaret Spencer of New London, Texas; his maternal grandparents, Jimmy and Joyce Foster of Henderson, Texas; and his grandmother-in-law, Ruth Craigo of Pineville, Louisiana. He is survived by his loving wife and soulmate, Amanda Spencer of Tyler, Texas; parents, Tony and Vicki Spencer of Leesville, Louisiana; sister, Paige Cryer and husband Jeremy and children Faith Cryer, Breanna Mooney, Caitlyn Mooney, Jeremy Cryer II, and Evangeline Cryer; and great-nephew, Kailen Burgess. Also surviving are in-laws, Mel and Lisa Sarvis and son Blake of Pineville, Louisiana; a host of uncles, aunts and cousins, Chris and Stephanie Comstock and son Gabriel of Tyler, Texas; and a plethora of brothers of Kappa Kappa Psi, National Honorary Band Fraternity.

The celebration of life service for Preston will be held on Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 10:30 am at New Covenant Church in Tyler with Pastor Roger Sims Jr. officiating under the direction of Stewart Family Funeral Home.

Honorary pallbearers are the Alpha Line of the Zeta Xi Chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi at Tyler Junior College: Shannon Charvis, Joshua Craddock, Mark Dorsey, Giquan Garrett, Matthew Maldonado, Steven Mullens, Marc Nicholson, Jake Penrod, Tyler Prock, CT Ricks, Will Ross, and Jamey Whitley.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page